Kicking off the 2012 Outdoor Racing Season. WOOT!

SEASON OPENER!!  This Saturday night around 7:56, you can find me toeing the line of the Women’s Premiere 1,500m at the Sun Angel Classic in Tempe, AZ.  I’m excited, nervous, anxious, and trying to throw away all expectations I may have of my race because this is what we in the biz call a “rust buster.”  I haven’t raced since the summer and I truly need this one race to give me a benchmark as to where my training’s at, where my strengths are and on what I need to work harder. I was asked yesterday what my goals for the race are and- it’s funny- if you’re not a runner, it might seem rather arbitrary to run a race that you don’t have any concrete goals to which the outside world can relate.  My answer?  “I want to race smart, remain mentally tough and competitive and not worry about the time or place.”  Now that I read in writing, that is concrete.  I have always been of the belief that if you stay tough and competitive, the fast time will come.  Between my coach and I, we want this race to get my head back in the racing game and to get me used to the pain that comes with hard racing.  I mean, it’s not super fun to feel the pain that us racers do, but the reality of it is that it’s going to hurt, I know this, and I just need to be able to handle it once it comes and push right on through.  I feel like I’m ready to get this season underway because I have BIG plans and they have to get kicked off at some point!  Plus, I’ll be racing in an adorable lavender top and you know how I feel about looking good –> feeling good –> racing good!  Thus the flamingo pink pedicure 😀

Fast Flamingo Toes!

Fired up the Victories for pre-meet!

About parkersplash

I'm a Wolverine transplant in AZ
This entry was posted in Running Related and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kicking off the 2012 Outdoor Racing Season. WOOT!

  1. allie kieffer says:

    I love the BIG plans link! I’d wish you luck, but I know you’ll do awesome!

  2. drearunning says:

    How can you have such nice toes!!! Mine look like pink crap 🙂 Glad you will be in purple with pink toes…Gosh that sounds familiar 🙂

Leave a Reply

