And you may ask yourself, “Well, how did I get here?”

It’s nearing the end of May and for me that means that I will be departing from the great state (and stifling summer heat) of Arizona and heading back to Michigan for a slightly cooler, though far more humid, base for about the next four months.  Though I love me some AZ weather when the rest of the country is blanketed by 6” of snow and rolling brownouts as winter storms slam down upon them, I do not love waking up feeling icky and warm, knowing that I’ll already be too hot in a sports bra and shorts, sans t-shirt, as I leave my front steps for my morning run.  It’s amazing what the heat can do to a body- as in spike the old core temperature to levels that make you feel dizzy during rest in a workout and raise the heart rate to previously-thought dangerous levels without even really trying too hard.  In other words, if you’re not used to the hot hot heat, you best get out of the kitchen… so I am.

Since I moved here (for the first time) in 2009, I’ve oft referred to myself as a young snowbird simply for the reason that my residential status changes and aligns with that of the many senior citizens that live in my neck of the Scottsdale woods.  While they drive their Bentleys and Maseratis (albeit very slowly), and I zoom zoom in my Mazda, we all share the notion that we want to be in weather that makes us as comfortable as possible—finding creature comfort, if you will.

While based in The Mitten, I’ll be opening up my season with a steeplechase in Indianapolis at the American Milers Club series, where I hope to run my A standard for the US championships.  I ran 10 seconds faster than the standard last year at Payton Jordan but I got injured shortly thereafter and had to call it a season, and if that weren’t bad enough, my time fell outside the qualifying window.  Insult?  Meet injury… literally.  Either way, I just finished my first full training cycle and it went pretty well, actually better than expected.  Coming back down from altitude was less than awesome on the legs, which suddenly felt like two semi-tanned, barely-mobile cement blocks attached to my torso, but I’m in the middle of a rest week now before I gear up for my season opener.  Bring. It On. (Oh, it’s already been broughten)

I have about a week to say a temporary goodbye to the people who have become hard- hitters in my life this year, pack up my apartment and put it in storage and determine just exactly which pieces of clothing I will be requiring in Michigan within the next 4 months.  Because that’s super easy, as is fitting it all into two checked bags and two inordinately large carry ons–likely going to be the size of small children.  I mean really?  Can I actually foresee what exactly it is I want to wear to the first U-M night game at the Big House?  Not likely.  I guess I’ll simply have to provide myself with many maize and blue ensemble options that may or may not include fair weather options, cold weather options, rainy weather options, snowy weather options, sleety weather options and sunny weather options.  Ah, Michigan, you fickle weather state.

I should get back to the packing, but I look forward to seeing those of you in MI and also consuming some cider mill doughnuts from Parmenter’s, Guernsey ice cream, Zingerman’s goodness, playing with my giant Great Dane, Apollo, and kickin’ it with Carol and Dan at The Nest.

About parkersplash

I'm a Wolverine transplant in AZ
This entry was posted in General Awesomeness, Running Related and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And you may ask yourself, “Well, how did I get here?”

  1. Cassie Ehlendt says:

    I hope you are working those gluts, DOUBLE GLUTS!!!!!!!!!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

