There’s no shame in a Harry Potter premiere

Last year at this time, I was happily carrying on without even thinking about reading the Harry Potter novels, despite my training partner’s insistence of their awesomeness.  After several minor battles featuring my argument that fantasy and/or science fiction novels are just not my thing, she got me to read the series and, I have to say, the writing style and pure creative aspect of the books were what made the books pretty enjoyable.  I can’t say that I’m a die-hard HP fan like Lisa, who was Dobby the house elf for Halloween this year (which was absolutely awesome), but the books were entertaining.

Fast-forward one year and oddly enough, at 10pm on Wednesday, November 18, you’ll find me, Lisa and birthday boy Andrew sitting in a theater full of middle school & high school students (accompanied by their loving/curious parents).  Yes, Lisa wrangled us to a 12:01am showing of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I and to thank us for joining her, she provided a melange of snacks and beverages, including, but not limited to, Henry Wreinhart’s root beer, peach gummies, Dove dark chocolates, neon gummy worms, Jelly Bellys and peppermint bark.

The movie was pretty good and relied heavily on the audience’s knowledge of the books, so if you’re heading out to catch the movie, be sure to brush up on your HP smarts.  I don’t know if I can say that I’ll ever be converted to an HP superfan, but it was actually pretty fun kickin’ it in a theater with all of the people who are so into the whole Harry Potter scene.  Forgiving the fact that my butt fell asleep at least three times and I only got a handful of hours of sleep before getting up for a workout after the 2:40am end time, I can honestly say that I’m not afraid to publicly thank Lisa for introducing me to a beloved genre of literature that I never would have sought out on my own.  Aside from the sugar coma from which I am still recovering, it was a pretty good night.  My guess is that Andrew would agree, though his opinion was likely influenced by several birthday tumblers of scotchy-scotch-scotch.

This fine photo illustrates how pretty I look at midnight after a long day with yet another long day ahead of me, as well as Lisa's undying affection for Dobby- on the silver screen and in "real" life.

About parkersplash

I'm a Wolverine transplant in AZ
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There’s no shame in a Harry Potter premiere

  1. Lol…so glad you rallied!! 🙂 Did you know the new name for hp fans…is potterheads? FYI. Haha….and thank you for wearing the Dobby mask into the theater!!

Leave a Reply

